Why I’m a Celtics Fan

Original Article

I was born and raised in Los Angeles so I guess you can make the assumption that I am a Los Angeles Lakers fan.  Wrong!  Let me explain.  I don’t give loyalty or support based on franchise or location.  I give loyalty to those teams who inspire and have good character.

When I was younger, the Lakers showtime era was a huge disappointment.  Magic cut his career short because of his inability to keep his jimmy hat on.  Sure it was a personal choice, but it effected his professional life.  Michael Jordan, although not squeaky clean either (no person is), was inspirational and had decent character.  I believe I learned a lot of good things by watching him.  Back to the Lakers.  Then there was the Shaq/Van Exel era with Kobe coming in as a youngin’.  Shaq seemed so down to earth and funny that it’s hard not to like the guy.  Plus, he got down to business when it was time.  So, I had a little bit of Laker spirit at the time.  We can all recollect the bickering that went on between Kobe and Shaq.  I would imagine that Shaq is a fairly easy to get along with but Kobe needed so much attention for his ego.  Then the breaking point was when the Lakers had the dream team lineup.  Payton, Malone, Shaq, Kobe, and a very strong supporting cast.  I think Kobe is very responsible for the Lakers shortcomings that season.  If you recall, that was the season when Kobe committed adultery and had huge scandal with rape accusations.  There was a media frenzy and it was a huge distraction to the game.  After all the dust settled, the dream team lost, the team is dispersed, and then they traded Shaq.  That was the boiling point for me.  Lovable Shaq who’s done so much for the franchise is given the cold shoulder.  There was no loyalty or accountability.  Jerry West was also treated unfairly by the franchise.  I was ecstatic when Shaq won a championship with the Miami Heat.  At the end of the day, basketball is a team sport.  Sure there are star players and supporting players, but everyone deserves respect and everyone is important.  I just don’t think there was a lot of that with Kobe.

The Celtics have 3 big name players who decided to put their selfish ambitions aside for the success of the team.  They had a team mantra “Ubuntu”.  They played as a team and won as a team.  It was a beautiful thing.  Basketball was played the way it should be (with ball movement and respect).  Ray Allen, Kevin Garnett, and Paul Pierce rocked big time.  They had character and they were inspirational.

So, basically my allegiance isn’t with location or logos (although I do like certain logos) or franchises.  Maybe someday I’ll be cheering for the Spurs (lol).  No, I’m not a bandwagon fan.  I didn’t cheer for the Spurs or Red Sox or Serena Williams.  Until the Lakers build some good character and inspiration, go CELTICS!!!

I’m also a Clippers fan btw.  Not flashy.  Humble and entertaining (with good ball movement).

Leave a Reply

